New card terminology and "Problem Solving Card Text". | The Irish Duelist

New card terminology and "Problem Solving Card Text".


With a new era of Yu-Gi-Oh! now underway all cards are now printed with new card texts that should make them easier to understand. This has already started with this year's Starter Deck (Dawn of the Xyz) and we'll see more cards like this in Generation Force and upcoming booster sets. For the full details on the new card terminology have a look at the following PDF, or just read it below:



1. ‘Remove from play’ is now ‘Banish’

The phrase „remove from play‟ is being replaced with the single word „banish‟:

Old:
Remove from play 1 face-up monster.

New:
Banish 1 face-up monster.

Cards that were „removed from play cards‟ will now be called „banished cards‟:

Old:
Both players Special Summon as many of their removed from play monsters as possible.

New:
Both players Special Summon as many of their banished monsters as possible.



2. ‘Is removed from the field’ is now ‘Leaves the field’

Another problem with „remove from play‟ is that people kept getting it mixed up with „remove from the field‟, which is something totally different. So now these terms will be „banished‟ and „leaves the field‟, instead.

„Banished‟ (which used to be „removed from play‟) means that the card goes off the board into that special place not depicted on the Game Mat.

„Leaves the field‟ (which used to be „is removed from the field‟) means that something was on the field, then went to the Graveyard, or to the hand, or was banished. (Note that effects that activate when a card leaves the field do NOT activate if it goes from the field to the Deck, since it gets lost in the shuffle.)

Old:
When this card is removed from the field, Special Summon 1 “Reborn Tengu” from your Deck.

New:
When this card leaves the field, Special Summon 1 “Reborn Tengu” from your Deck.

The only place you‟ll see „remove‟ from now on is when removing counters. Like „Remove 1 Spell
Counter.‟As you can see, the word „remove‟ was pulling triple duty, to mean 3 different things. This has now been fixed.

Take a look at what this does to cards like “Plaguespreader Zombie”:

Old:
If you do, remove this card from play when it is removed from the field.
New:
If you do, banish this card when it leaves the field.



3. Piercing Battle Damage

During battle between this attacking card and a Defense Position monster whose DEF is lower than
the ATK of this card, inflict the difference as Battle Damage to your opponent.This effect has been around for years, but we‟re simplifying the wording to just say the monster can do „piercing Battle Damage‟.

Old:
During battle between this attacking card and a Defense Position monster whose DEF is lower than
the ATK of this card, inflict the difference as Battle Damage to your opponent.

New:
If this card attacks a Defense Position monster, inflict piercing Battle Damage to your opponent.

Note that the piercing effect only applies to Battle Damage. Which means that you still need to get to damage calculation so that Battle Damage actually happens. In other words, just because the wording is changing doesn‟t mean this is some magical new thing that happens when the attack is declared.



4. ‘Selected as an attack target’ is now ‘targeted for an attack’

Let‟s take “Marauding Captain” as an example:

Old:
Your opponent cannot select another face-up Warrior-Type monster as an attack target.

New:
Your opponent cannot target face-up Warrior-Type monsters for attacks, except this one.



5. Hero monsters are now (mostly!) HERO monsters

We have 3 kinds of „Hero‟ monsters from Yu-Gi-Oh! GX right now: Elemental Heroes, Destiny
Heroes, and Evil Heroes. Coming soon we‟ll be adding Masked Heroes and Vision Heroes to that
list.

Right now, on cards like “Elemental Hero Stratos”, we write out „Elemental Hero, Destiny Hero, or Evil Hero card‟ for effects that work on all 3 kinds. Instead of adding „or Masked Hero, or Vision Hero‟ in the future, we‟re going to pull a comic book-style retcon, and just change the names of all the GX Hero-class monsters from Hero to HERO (all-caps).

This applies to monster card names:
“Elemental HERO Tempest”
“Destiny HERO Dasher”
“Evil HERO Dark Gaia”

As well as effects. “Elemental HERO Stratos” for example would say:

Add 1 “HERO” monster from your Deck to your hand.

Spell/Trap Cards are mostly unaffected, since they have lower-case names already and are not Hero-class monsters.

There are 3 exceptions to this rule. For monsters, “Hero Kid” is going to stay “Hero Kid” since it‟s not old enough to be a full-fledged HERO. On the other hand, “Hero‟s Bond” will become “HERO‟S Bond”. But “HERO Flash!!” will become “Hero Flash!!”.

We plan to reprint most of these cards soon with the corrected names and texts. So everyone who wants to use the revised names can play with those updated cards, to avoid confusion. But for now, until Masked HERO and Vision HERO cards start showing up, none of this will affect your gameplay at all.



6. Problem-solving card text: Timing, Targeting and Conditions

As far as rules go, the most important info on a card are its Timing, Targeting, and Conditions.
These are also the things that cause the most questions. For example:

 Timing – If we make a chain, do I do things when I activate my card or when the card
resolves?

 Targeting – Does this card target something? If it has more than 1 target, what happens if
one target goes away?

 Conditions – What if something changes between the moment I play the card and the
moment it finishes up and goes to the Graveyard?

Starting in July, any card that hits on any of these key areas will have its text rewritten to answer all of your questions. Here‟s how it works:

Monster Text
In the following this will be explained using colors, since our brains understand things better with colors. During these examples:

 Anything that explains CONDITIONS to activate a card, or limits WHEN or HOW OFTEN you can activate a card, will be written in green and called „green text‟. Green text limits when you can do things.

 Anything that happens WHEN YOU ACTIVATE a card will be written in red and called „red text‟. This includes things like costs and targeting.

 Anything that happens when you resolve a card will be written in blue and called „blue text‟. This is what happens when the card effect actually happens.

Remember that your actual cards will still be printed in black!

On your cards, instead of using colors, punctuation will let you tell what kind of text everything is.

Conditions (green text) are now always followed by a colon (:).

Activation text (red) is separated from the card effects (blue) by a semicolon (;).

The basic structure is CONDITIONS : ACTIVATION ; RESOLUTION.

Let‟s take the new “Sangan” as a simple example:

When this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard: Add 1 monster with 1500 or less ATK from your Deck to your hand.

Everything in green (before the colon) describes WHEN and under what conditions the effect happens. Everything in blue (after the colon) describes what happens when the effect resolves.

If there‟s a semicolon, then everything after the conditions is divided between what happens when you activate the card (red text, before the semicolon) and what happens when the card resolves (blue text, after the semicolon):

When this card is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard: You can target 2 Level 2 monsters in your Graveyard; Special Summon them, but their effects are negated.

When you activate a card or effect:
1. Make sure the green part (before the colon) is being followed.
2. Do the part in red (before the semicolon) if there is any.
3. After that, other cards and effects can be chained in response. If there‟s a chain, you don‟t do your card‟s effects (blue, after the colon / semicolon) until the chain resolves, in backwards order, like this:



Let‟s take an example of a 3-card Chain.

Player #1 Summons “Trident Warrior” and chooses to activate its effect. This starts a chain:
When this card is Normal Summoned: You can Special Summon 1 Level 3 monster from your hand.

Player #2 chains “Raigeki Break”, targeting Player #1‟s monster:
Discard 1 card to target 1 card on the field; destroy it.

But the card Player #2 targeted was a Gemini monster, so Player #1 responds with “Gemini
Spark”:
Tribute 1 face-up Level 4 Gemini monster you control to target 1 card on the field; destroy it and draw 1 card.

Using the colons and semicolons, you can build the chain like this:

1. Player #1‟s Trident Warrior: (it has no red text, but it still goes on the chain structure even though nothing happens yet)

2. Player #2‟s Raigeki Break: Discard 1 card to target 1 card on the field; (at this point, Player #2 discards 1 card, and targets Player #1‟s monster)

3. Player #1‟s Gemini Spark: Tribute 1 face-up Level 4 Gemini monster you control to target 1 card on the field; (at this point, Player #1 Tributes his monster and targets one of Player #2‟s cards)

4. Player #1‟s Gemini Spark resolves: destroy it and draw 1 card. (Player #1 does these things)

5. Player #2‟s Raigeki Break resolves: destroy it. (The monster isn‟t on the field anymore so
nothing happens)

6. Player #1‟s Trident Warrior resolves: Special Summon 1 Level 3 monster from your hand. (Player #1 does this)

Red goes on top, Blue on the bottom. In other words: everything before the semicolons happens first (all piled together in order), then everything after the semicolons (again, all piled up in order).

BIG TIP: If there‟s a colon or semicolon in the new text, that always means an effect that starts a chain. If there is no colon or semicolon, the effect does NOT start a chain and cannot be chained to.“Sangan” starts a chain. You will know this because it uses a colon:

When this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard: Add 1 monster with 1500 or less ATK from your Deck to your hand.

“Cyber Dragon” does NOT start a chain. You will know this because it does not use a colon:

If your opponent controls a monster and you control no monsters, you can Special Summon this card (from your hand).

Spell and Trap Text
Spells and Traps always start a chain at some point, because activating the Spell/Trap starts a
chain all by itself.

Some Spells & Traps won‟t have a colon or a semicolon. But they still start a chain when you activate the Spell or Trap. (Summoning a monster doesn‟t start a chain, so that‟s why they‟re different).

“Creature Swap”, for example, has no colon or semicolon. In fact, its text is exactly the same as before because everything on “Creature Swap” happens when the effect resolves:

Each player chooses 1 monster they control and switches control of those monsters with each other. Those monsters cannot change their battle positions for the rest of this turn.

Many Trap Cards have Conditions, so they will have a colon in the text. This doesn‟t make them
play any differently from a Spell/Trap without a colon, though. The new “Seven Tools of the Bandit” looks like this, for example:

When a Trap Card is activated: Pay 1000 Life Points; negate the activation and destroy it.

The colon is there to show that this card has specific conditions to activate it. The semicolon is there to separate what you do when you activate this card, vs. what you do when the card
resolves.