OCG Rulings clarifications for Extra Pack: Volume 4 | The Irish Duelist

OCG Rulings clarifications for Extra Pack: Volume 4


Extra Pack: Volume 4 was recently released in the OCG and allows the region to catch up with the World Premiere cards that the TCG has received in in the past year or so. Various ruling clarifications were also posted on the OCG websites for the new cards, and some of them work a little differently to the way they do in the TCG, most notably XX-Saber Darksoul. Here's a brief rundown of the rulings, bear in mind that these rulings are for the OCG only, and the current TCG rulings for these cards still apply.



Source: Pojo

Extra Pack 4: XX-Saber Boggart Knight
•"This card cannot be used as a Synchro Material Monster, except for the Synchro Summon of a "X-Saber" monster." is not treated as a Monster Effect.
•The effect to Special Summon an "X-Saber" Monster does not target.

Extra Pack 4: XX-Saber Darksoul
•You decide whether or not to activate the effect of this Card during the End Phase.
•This Card does not start a chain when it is sent from the Field to the Graveyard.
•During the End Phase, the effect activates in the Graveyard.
•Even if this Card is tributed or sent to the Graveyard as a cost to activate a Card, its effect can be activated during the End Phase.

Extra Pack 4: Koa'ki Meiru Prototype
•Even if a "Koa'ki Meiru" monster is destroyed during the End Phase due to a [Maintenance] Cost or any Card Effect, this effect can be applied.
•This effect is applied when the "Koa'ki Meiru" Monster would be destroyed.

Extra Pack 4: Snyffus
•Tributing 1 Plant-type monster you control is a cost to activate the effect. This effec targets 1 Card the opponent controls.
•You can tribute 1 face-down Plant-type monster you control as a cost.
•The effect to Special Summon this Card from the Graveyard cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
•The effect can be activated even when a Plant-type Token Monster is destroyed.

Extra Pack 4: Nimble Sunfish
•The Fish-type monster is sent from the Deck to the Graveyard when the effect resolves.
•Even if you have no copies of Nimble Sunfish in your Deck, the effect still activates to send a Fish-type monster from the Deck to the Graveyard.
•Even if this Card is attacked while in face-down Defense Position and flipped face-up by an opponent's monster, its effect will still activate if it's destroyed in battle and sent to the Graveyard.

Extra Pack 4: Akz, the Pumer
•This is a Special Summon monster. Furthermore, "This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set." is not treated as a Monster Effect.
•Banishing 2 Beast-Warrior-type monsters is part of the Summon Procedure. Also, this Special Summon does not start a chain.
•You select which of the 2 effects to activate upon activating the effect. Discarding 1 Beast-Warrior-type monster is a cost.
•Neither effect targets.

Extra Pack 4: Saber Vault
•Each "X-Saber" monster gains ATK and loses DEF according to their own Level.
•If the Level of an "X-Saber" monster changes, recalculate the ATK and DEF values (for example, if the Level increases, increase the ATK).
•If a face-down "X-Saber" monster you control is attacked by the opponent, apply the effect of Saber Vault during Damage Calculation.

Extra Pack 4: Core Overclock
•Neither effect targets.
•If a face-down "Koa'ki Meiru" monster you control is attacked by the opponent, apply the effect of Core Overclock during Damage Calculation.
•You cannot activate the effect of this Card during the same chain link in which you activate this Card.
•Discarding 1 Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru is a cost to activate the effect that increases ATK.

Extra Pack 4: Wave-Motion Inferno
•The effect to send all Cards in your Hand to the Graveyard start a chain.
•Sending Wave-Motion Inferno to the Graveyard is a cost.
•If you have no Cards in your Hand, the effect to send all Cards in your Hand to the Graveyard cannot be activated.

Extra Pack 4: Infernity Barrier
•This Card can be activated during the Damage Step.
•This Card cannot negate the activation of the effects of Continuous Spell/Trap Cards.

Extra Pack 4: Scrap Archfiend
No rulings.

Extra Pack 4: Amazoness Scouts
•This effect does not target.
•This effect cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
•If you control no face-up "Amazoness", this effect cannot be activated.

Extra Pack 4: Naturia Pineapple
•The effect to treat all monsters you control as Plant-type monsters is applied even if you have monsters in your Graveyard that aren't of Beast or Plant-type.
•Even if you have multiple copies of Naturia Pineapple in your Graveyard, you can only Special Summon 1 of them.

Extra Pack 4: D.D. Destroyer
•This effect targets 1 face-up Card the opponent controls.
•This effect can be activated even if this Card is Banished during the Damage Step.
•If your opponent controls no face-up Cards, this effect cannot be activated.

Extra Pack 4: Dark Desertapir
•This effect targets 1 Level 4 or lower Beast-type monster in your Graveyard.
•If you have no elligible monsters to target, this effect cannot be activated.
•This effect can be activated even if this Card is Banished from the Hand or Deck.
•This effect can be activated even if this Card is Banished during the Damage Step.

Extra Pack 4: Psychic Nightmare
•You select a Card in the opponent's Hand at random when the effect resolves.

Extra Pack 4: Guts of Steel
•This effect targets 3 "Scrap" monsters in your Graveyard.
•The opponent selects 1 of the 3 targeted monsters when the effect resolves.
•Special Summoning the monster selected by the opponent and Banishing the remaining monsters is considered to happen simultaneously.

Extra Pack 4: Amazoness Heirloom
•The "When the equipped monster attacks, after damage calculation, destroy the attack target." effect does not target, it destroys the monster after Damage Calculation, and it starts a chain.

Extra Pack 4: Amazoness Shamanism
•This effect does not target.
•This Card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
•After destroying all "Amazoness" Monsters, the player chooses how many Level 4 or lower "Amazoness" Monsters to Special Summon from the Graveyard.

Extra Pack 4: Super Rush Recklessly
•This effect targets 1 monster you control and 1 monster the opponent controls for a total of 2 targets.
•This Card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.

Extra Pack 4: Empress Archfiend
•The effect to Banish a DARK Fiend-type monster in your Graveyard instead of destroying a monster does not target.
•The effect to Banish a DARK Fiend-type monster in your Graveyard instead of destroying a monster is applied during the resolution of the effect that would destroy the monster, and the monster is Banished at that time.
•The effect to Special Summon a Fiend-type monster targets.

Extra Pack 4: Skull Meister
•This effect does not target.
•This effect must be activated in a chain to the effect controlled by the opponent that activates in the Graveyard.
•This effect can be activated during the Damage Step.
•Sending this Card from the Hand to the Graveyard is a cost.

Extra Pack 4: Droll & Lock Bird
•This effect cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
•This effect cannot be activated in a chain to an effect that would add Cards from the Deck to the Hand. This effect is activated after an effect that adds Cards from the Deck to the Hand resolves.
•Drawing Cards is included in "adding Cards from the Deck to the Hand".
•This effect can be activated during the opponent's turn.

Extra Pack 4: Spellstone Sorcerer Karood
•If an Monster Effect is activated outside the Field like in the Hand, Graveyard, etc., a Spellstone Counter is still placed in this Card.
•A Spellstone Counter is placed on this Card regardless of who activates the Monster Effect.
•Spellstone Counters are placed on this Card even during the Damage Step.
•Removing 1 Spellstone Counter is a cost to activate the effect that Banishes a Card in the opponent's Graveyard.
•The effect that Banishes a Card in the opponent's Graveyard targets.

Extra Pack 4: Scrap Mind Reader
•"If this card is used as a Synchro Material Monster, all other Synchro Material Monsters must be "Scrap" monsters." is not treated as a Monster Effect.
•The effect to Special Summon this Card targets 1 "Scrap" monster you control to destroy it.
•All other Synchro Materials must be "Scrap" monsters even if you don't Special Summon this Card from the Graveyard by its own effect.

Extra Pack 4: Gravekeeper's Recruiter
•This effect activates even if there are no Cards to add from the Deck to the Hand.
•This effect is activated even during the Damage Step.
•This effect will activate even if this Card is sent from the Field to the Graveyard while face-down.
•This effect will activate even if this Card is sent to the Graveyard as a cost or during a chain, starting a new chain.

Extra Pack 4: Psi-Blocker
No rulings.

Extra Pack 4: Koa'ki Meiru Wall
•Tributing this Card is a cost.
•This effect does not target.
•This effect can be activated during the Damage Step.
•This effect cannot negate the activation of the effect of a Spell Card.

Extra Pack 4: Karakuri Barrel mdl 96 Shinkuro
No rulings.

Extra Pack 4: Mischief of the Yokai
•Neither effect can be activated during the Damage Step.
•If multiple copies of this Card are activated, the Levels are reduced by each copy of this Card.
•The first effect does not target.
•The effect that activates in the Graveyard to lower the Level of 1 monster targets.
•Banishing this Card in the Graveyard is a cost.
•Even if this Card is sent to the Graveyard from the Hand or Deck, its effect cannot be activated during the same turn.

Extra Pack 4: Vortex the Whirlwind
•This effect can be activated even if this Card is attacked while in face-down Defense Position and destroyed in battle by an opponent's monster.

Extra Pack 4: Vanadis of the Nordic Ascendant
•"You can substitute this card for any 1 "Nordic" Tuner monster for a Synchro Summon." is not treated as a Monster Effect.
•Thor, Lord of the Aesir, Loki, Lord of the Aesir, and Odin, Father of the Aesir can be Synchro Summoned using Vanadis of the Nordic Ascendant as a Tuner Monster.
•"If this card is used as a Synchro Material Monster, all other Synchro Material Monsters must be "Nordic" monsters." is not treated as a Monster Effect.
•Sending a "Nordic" Monster to the Graveyard is a cost for the effect that modifies the Level of this Card.

Extra Pack 4: Shien's Daredevil
•The effect to Remove a Bushido Counter from this Card to place a Bushido Counter in another Card targets.
•The Bushido Counter is Removed when the effect resolves.
•You can place a Bushido Counter on Cards that the opponent controls.

Extra Pack 4: Karakuri Muso mdl 818 Haipa
No rulings.

Extra Pack 4: Scrap Breaker
•"If your opponent controls a monster, you can Special Summon this card from your hand." is not treated as a FLIP, Continuous, Ignition, Trigger or Quick Effect. Also, it does not start a chain.
•The effect to destroy a face-up "Scrap" Monster you control targets. Also, if you control no other "Scrap" Monsters, Scrap Breaker targets itself.

Extra Pack 4: Chaos Hunter
•Discarding a Card is a cost to activate the effect that Special Summons this Card.
•This effect cannot be activated during the Damage Step.

Extra Pack 4: Maxx "C"
•You cannot activate the effect of multiple copies of Maxx "C" by sending them to the Graveyard during the same turn.
•You can draw Cards even when Monster Tokens or Cards like Embodiment of Apophis are Special Summoned.

Extra Pack 4: The Nordic Lights
•The effect to destroy all "Nordic" Monsters is activated when this Card is sent to the Graveyard and it starts a chain.

Extra Pack 4: Nordic Relic Megingjord
•This Card targets 1 face-up "Nordic" or "Aesir" monster you control.
•This Card can be activated during the opponent's turn.
•This Card can be activated during the Damage Step, before Damage Calculation.

Extra Pack 4: Six Strike - Thunder Blast
•These effects target 1 Card the opponent controls. They can also target face-down Cards.
•This Card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
•Removing a Bushido Counter is a cost.